How To Be Happy

Happiness is contagious ♥

Without happiness, there is very little substance left in life that will keep you going. It is one of those emotions that people take for granted, you never realise you’ve been happy until you start to feel sadness.

Happiness can make you feel as if you can conquer the world. Anything can be achieved when you have a smile on your face and a skip in your step; however, with so many modern factors ruling our everyday lives it can sometimes be difficult to find that happiness that everybody is looking for.

If happiness is what everybody is striving for, then why do we put ourselves in situations that will never give us that giddy, euphoric feeling that we deserve?

How to be happy with : Social Media

It’s a Saturday night and money is tight. You opt for a casual night in with a Netflix binge and a delicious dinner, yet you can’t help but feel as if something is missing. It isn’t until you open your phone and scroll through your social media platforms that your body sets into panic and guilt begins to override your senses. Everybody is out partying, dating or achieving something amazing and you can’t help but feel remorseful as you sit in your food stained pyjamas stuffing your face with a tub of ice cream and cheesy nachos.

Have you missed the memo that Saturday night is THE night to be out with your friends? What was your brain thinking when you turned down a cocktail drinking, girl’s night to sit and ‘relax’ after a hard week of working? As you sit scrolling through everybody’s highlights of the weekend (another friend engaged and pregnant, really?!) you can’t help but slowly start to feel shamefaced about your lack of weekend antics – or any exciting life events in general really.

Social media is known to be a damning factor on your own mental attitude to life. You can’t help but feel a sense of disappointment as you see everybody around you having fun and living life to the full. However, what you need to remember that just because you aren’t dancing on tables and whipping your hair back and forth doesn’t mean you are wasting your life. We are all told to live while you’re young and “live life to the fullest” yet that doesn’t mean a night in with a hot bath and pampering session is something to be ashamed of. It’s the perfect way to allow your body to refresh itself and allow that happiness in. I mean, I’m sure the Strawberry Daqs can wait until next week and after a week of happiness and pampering you’ll be on top form to shimmy the night away.

How to be happy: In Love

Relationships are hard. Nobody ever disagrees with this. You could have the most perfect boyfriend/girlfriend in the world but you are still bound to argue and disagree. The question is, when does it become a step from feeling unhappy for an hour to feeling unhappy every day?

Now, I’ve been with James for three years and trust me when I say it is a rollercoaster of emotions; however, I find myself filled with happiness more often than frustration and this is what makes me realise how happy he makes me. If I was in a situation where I found myself upset, frustrated or deflated every day then I don’t think my body could mentally cope with the negative emotions I was feeling every time I saw him.

Being happy is about looking after yourself first. It sounds like a selfish act but there is only so long you can keep a smile plastered to your face before you internally combust. If these negative emotions are something you are feeling every day, then maybe it’s time to reassess the situation and work out what is best for you.

However, that being said, it doesn’t mean you can just give up. Being in love has brought me some of my happiest memories ever and let’s be honest, being in a long-term relationship can start to become a continuous routine of the same habits. Take time to go on dates, even if it’s just a walk around the town, and make sure you put aside time to spend together. It’s no secret that lives can get busy with work and other engagements yet even just making sure you have dinner together every night can make a difference to your mood. Also, it helps to remember that if you are feeling sad and down then maybe your partner is as well? Take time to talk about your feelings with each other and you’ll soon find yourself grinning from ear to ear.

How to be happy: With Work

After I graduated, I remember somebody telling me “and now here comes the hard part” and it is something that has stuck in my brain ever since.

I have worked since I was 16 and I have gone from some of the worst jobs possible to now having a full-time job that I am extremely happy in but it hasn’t been an easy journey. Throughout university I took any work I could get so that I could eat, travel and have some sort of social life. One of the first jobs I had at university was working in a coffee shop and I found myself being extremely unhappy but I told myself that I needed this job to survive and that everybody would be so judgemental if I quit. Looking back now I was stupid to push myself through a job that I despised, but at the time I couldn’t see why I was feeling unhappy all the time. The reason was I was dreading going to work and I can tell you now that feeling that dread every day is not something I recommend. Thanks to my family and James, I plucked up the courage to quit (even though I was so scared I would never get another job!) and found myself two months later with a job within a supermarket that was perfect for me and my studies.

If you find yourself being filled with dread every morning commute or can recognise that your job is bringing you down in every aspect of your life then, just like when being in love, it’s time to sit down and question whether your unhappiness is worth that job. I know, it’s easier said than done to leave but in the long run, when you are in a job that makes you happier, you will find yourself regretting all those times you made yourself unhappy when there was no need too.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Melanie says:

    This is a great post! I have never thought about social media being a downer in my life. After reading this, I realized that it totally is most of the time! I love finding new ways to help me be a happier person, and this article has a lot of helpful information.
    Thanks for your awesome post!

    Melanie
    themakingsoflife.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tarynmary says:

      I’m so happy you found it useful 🤗 you don’t realise how it can effect you until you take a step back and really look, thank you so much for your lovely comment ✨ xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

