Winter Warmers

 

Ooh baby it’s cold outside.

In fact, it’s freezing. So cold that this morning I found myself wrapping myself up with two scarves and three pairs of socks as I battled against the blustery, frightening chills.

I love Winter but I HATE (notice the capitalisation there to highlight my deep hatred?) being cold. I do not function well in the cold, combine being cold with being hungry and you have the female version of the Incredible Hulk on it’s period…an absolute disaster.

So for all you winter loving, cold hating hooligans out there, this post is the perfect manual on how to enjoy Winter but still keep optimum warmth.

❆ Bulk buy hot chocolate, seriously.

What can make the world’s biggest ice queen melt in two seconds? A delicious, big mug of thick, rich hot chocolate. My mouth is drooling at just the thought of it. The reason I suggest to bulk buy is because you will be consuming this warming beverage so much that you don’t want to be left with the risk of running out and awakening the winter beast.

While I am on this subject, buy a good thermal travel mug as well. It will allow you to transport the chocolate which means happy you throughout your morning commute. Oh, also buy marshmallows as they make everything better. And whipped cream.

giphy (3).gif
Credit: Giphy

❆ Get knitting

Okay, you don’t have to take this one too seriously. I don’t expect everybody to run out and start buying ‘How to knit’ starter kits; however you should definitely invest in a few, key knitwear items.

Think chunky scarfs and fur-lined mittens. My nan started a trend once of knitting her own gloves for the whole family and people at school were soon requesting a pair of Nanny Val’s knitted gloves. So, if you can knit then go full force and create a whole wardrobe, you never know, you could be the next Alexander McQueen of the knitting world.

giphy.gif
Credit: Giphy

❆ Hoard those winter blankets

I can’t remember when I specifically started collecting fluffy blankets but I am sure it was a trend that happened after having a particularly bad winter rage episode and regretting that I wasn’t one of those people who hoarded blankets.

Well, guess what? Now I am, and I have no regrets. The first thing I do when I return home from work is snuggle up under a thick, fluffy blanket to help my poor toes warm up and keep my mind sane. They are also great for other things as well, such as building forts, using as table clothes and grabbing quickly to cover you as you run from the bedroom to the kitchen in your underwear, hunting for those vital hibernation snacks.

giphy (1).gif
Credit: Giphy
4 Comments Add yours

  1. Maisie says:

    Mmmmmm yes hot chocolate and blankets are two go to’s for this time of year! I learnt to knit when I was in high school but omg I can’t for the life of me remember how to haha! Lovely post sweetness x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tarynmary says:

      Thanks lovely! Oh don’t , I tried so many times when I was younger to knit but still can’t get the hang of it ! Would love to be able to knit my own thick blankets!

      Like

  2. Mwahaki King says:

    This post is so accurate, I love it! “I do not function well in the cold, combine being cold with being hungry and you have the female version of the Incredible Hulk on it’s period…an absolute disaster”, hahaha too true. Hot chocolate has been an absolute life saver for me as well 🙂 Brilliant post.
    – M. King xxx
    It’s a King Thing | http://www.itisakingthing.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tarynmary says:

      Ah yay I’m glad you enjoyed it ! Hot chocolate gets me through the week , the best winter drink you can get for sure ! Even better when they’re flavoured ! Xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

