My Christmas Playlist

Hello lovelies!

It’s official! I can finally announce that I am in the festive spirit and I cannot control my excitement. This week has been an abundance of mince pies, Christmas films and, most importantly, Christmas music!

 If I had my way I would start blaring out the jolly tunes from October onwards; however, I have tried to control myself this year for James’ sake and have only started putting them on repeat for the last week or so.

I find Christmas music brings back so many happy memories that I can’t help but smile when I hear it. So, without further ado, here are my all-time favourite Christmas tunes:

  1. Fairytale of New York -The Pogues

This one always reminds me of visiting my Nan and Grandad at Christmas. I always remember thinking that so many of the lyrics were naughty when I was younger that me and my cousin (Hi Alisha!) used to giggle our way through the song as we sung extremely loud. I think it’s the backing tune that really makes me want to get up and do a festive jig around my living room. As soon as those first notes are played in the introduction I feel excitement begin to brew and I can’t help but sing along.

giphy (2).gif
Credit: Giphy
  1. Merry Christmas Everyone – Shakin’ Stevens

This one always bring the memory of dancing with my mum around the Christmas tree as we struggled to undo the bloody fairy lights. It also reminds me of singing it in Primary school as we made our festive hats to wear for our school Christmas dinner.

  1. It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year – Andy Williams

This one really gets my baubles going. I always like to sing this as I am struggling around the shops trying to buy stuff as it just reminds me of the scene in ‘Jingle All The Way’ when they are fighting for the ping pong balls to win a toy.

giphy (3).gif
Credit: Giphy
  1. Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow! – Frank Sinatra

We went on a holiday one December to a cottage in the Lake Distract and I always remember singing this song in the car with my cousin (Hi Alisha again!) and making up actions to go along with the lyrics. In fact, I can still remember these actions as I surprised my friend with them the other day as I started dancing without even realising! What a jolly soul I am.

  1. Santa Clause Is Coming To Town – Bruce Springsteen version

Growing up I always loved listening to Bruce Springsteen and his version of this song is one of my favourite versions. His raspy tones lend to the song really well and I always remember answering him as he asked questions at the very beginning of the song, trying to convince him that I had been good and not eaten all my advent chocolates in one go (oops!).

giphy (5).gif
Credit: Giphy
  1. I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday – Wizzard

Oh my, this song. Growing up I always used to visit my mum’s grandad (a.k.a Big Grandad) and he used to live in Weymouth and this song always bring back a specific memory of standing at his front door in my Christmas PJ’s as a festive float paraded down the street playing this song. I remember being filled with so much happiness that I shook with excitement and wouldn’t shut the door until the float had fully disappeared and I couldn’t hear the music anymore.

  1. It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas – Michael Buble

This will always be the first Christmas song I play. It’s such a beautiful song and it really puts me in the festive mood. I find that this is the song that I find myself singing on repeat throughout the Christmas period as it is so easy to sing along too. I remember always being annoyed when I was younger that the song says “Mum and Dad can’t wait for school to start again” and I used to think this was so unfair as I never wanted school to start again!

I could literally go on for so long that I think I need to stop here before my fingers cramp up with typing!

giphy (4).gif
Credit: Giphy

What are your favourite Christmas tunes? Leave a comment below to let me know !

 

 

Leave a Reply

