Benefit – BIG sexy lip kit review

It’s finally Spring and that can only mean one thing… bring out the lipsticks! Now, I am someone who will always opt for a lipstick no matter what the weather, day or time; however, there is something about sunny weather that makes me want to experiment with every shade possible.

Make way for Benefit’s latest gift set, the BIG sexy lip kit. I was lucky enough to receive this gift set for my birthday (thanks Rebecca!) and when I first opened it I was beyond excited as I had read so many good reviews about the They’re Real double the lip lipsticks which are featured in this kit.

The BIG sexy lip kit comprises of four miniature lipsticks which are small versions of the They’re Real double the lip lipsticks, lipsticks created around the idea of having a lip liner and lipstick in one product.

Photo 11-03-2017, 12 39 06

DSC_0320

The first thing I noticed about the BIG sexy lip kit is the packaging. The lipsticks come in a large silver tin with bright orange, oversized typography which lives up to their name of being BIG! The case is built to be tough which is great when somebody like me, who has the clumsiest hands in the world, comes along in a rush and drops it straight onto my tiled flooring. The only downside would be that I like things compact and easy to store away, but because the casing is so bulky it can prove difficult to find its place.

Photo 11-03-2017, 12 31 40

Now on to the lipsticks. Each of the four shades are clearly labelled and include Flame Game, Pink Thrills, Revved-Up Red and Lusty Rose. The one thing that I instantly fell in love with when opening each lipstick is the variety of shades that are included. I have always found that when buying lipstick sets the shades are usually based around the same colours, for example all of them being pink based; however, in BIG sexy lip kit each lipstick and liner is different from the others.

Flame Game

Photo 11-03-2017, 12 32 32

I have never owned an orange lipstick and after applying Flame Game (which features a bright orange lipstick with a burnt orange liner) I felt completely out of my comfort zone. The lipstick is amazing however my confidence to be able to pull off a lipstick like this? Not so amazing. This lipstick is smooth and is incredibly easy to apply due to the tear-shaped applicator and I am hoping that with a lot more experimentation I will have the confidence to wear it as it is a perfect shade for summer.

Pink Thrills

Photo 11-03-2017, 12 33 04

Pink Thrills is made for girlie nights out. It’s fun, flirty and seems to go with every outfit! The lipstick is also very pigmented and stays on with no trouble throughout most of the evening!

Revved-Up Red

Photo 11-03-2017, 12 32 50

This one is definitely for the girls who want to honour their inner rebel. Bright red and bold, this lipstick is a match made in heaven when paired with a leather jacket and chunky boots. I am a massive fan of bright red lipsticks / glosses so this is the one that pulled me in straight away. I found that it’s slightly more shiny than the other lipsticks and the liner is a lot more noticeable so requires a bit of blending, but other than that, it’s safely one of my go to red’s.

Lusty Rose

DSC_0331

All hail the Lusty Rose! This is my go to everyday lipstick and I am totally head over heels for it. Lusty Rose is the lipstick for the ultimate girlie girl. With a pink pastel base and a dark plum liner, you couldn’t find a better lipstick to wear throughout Spring and Summer. I like to wear this lipstick on an everyday basis, especially when at work when I wear a lot of black as it offers that subtle pop of colour without being too overbearing. Lusty Rose is definitely a lipstick for somebody who wants to add colour to their make up routine but doesn’t want it to be to showstopping.

Have you tried the Benefit Bix Sexy Lip Kit? If so, let me know your favourite one in the comments!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Benefit – BIG sexy lip kit review

Leave a Reply

