An Evening with The Botanist, Reading

Anybody who knows me knows my obsession for cocktails. So, you can imagine my joy when I was invited to an exclusive dinner at The Botanist, which is due to open in Reading on 2nd June, where I was treated to a whole wonderland of delights.

The Botanist, Reading is located on King Street in the old Barclays bank so is super convenient for a mid-week date night or a Saturday gossip with the girls. With grand double doors to welcome you inside, I felt myself instantly relax as the smell of the renowned botanical cocktails and delicious inviting ingredients filled the air.

the botanist

The first thing that struck me was how every little detail of The Botanist décor had been thought about. From the whimsical arches made out of tree branches and flowers to the decorative tin watering cans, walking into The Botanist feels as if you have just stepped straight into a fairy tale.

 I was amazed at how every little detail had been thought of, from the branding on the napkins to the mismatched chairs that actually matched perfectly, every aspect of the bar and restaurant had the wow factor.

TheBotanistReading-LowRes-7K8B4078.jpg

The Botanist are known for their creative cocktails so of course I had to try them for myself. I started with a Strawberry and Cucumber Breeze which was made up of strawberry puree, mint and cucumber muddled with vanilla sugar syrup, Tanqueray gin and strawberry liqueur made long with apple, cranberry and lemon juice. It was divine! The Botanist bar staff were happy to describe each step they took to create the cocktail and even recommended ones we should try after getting to know our likes and dislikes. The cocktails also come served very fancy, with glasses being shunned to the side to make way for terracotta plant pots, vintage tea pots and tea cups, watering cans and test tube beakers.

If you are somebody who is not in favour of cocktails, then The Botanist also offer over 80 different beers and ales from around the world, perfect for refreshing yourself on the upcoming summer days.

cocktail

teapot

whisky

Whisky glass

beer menu

After such fabulous cocktails, I couldn’t help but wonder whether this was the peak of The Botanist and that the cocktails were the highlight with the food just being an added extra; however, as soon as I tasted my started of warm camembert with smoked bacon and crispy onion crust, I knew this wasn’t the case.

camembert1

camembert

The food at The Botanist is the epitome of comfort food. Simple recipes made delicious by the quality of the ingredients and the clear expertise of the chef. Highlight of the food for me was definitely the dessert where I opted for salted caramel cookie dough that came served in a skillet pan and literally melted in my mouth.

Burger and chips

IMG_3563

Another highlight of the evening was the live music that played in the background, with the musicians being entertaining and lively while giving off a relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere. I can certainly see myself being planted at a table for several hours, hydrating myself on the glorious cocktails and refuelling on the delicious food while enjoying every element that The Botanist has to offer.

menu

2 Comments Add yours

    1. tarynmary says:

      It’s such a pretty bar and restaurant , the food is amazing as well! Xo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

